Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

Created By The Mercury 7 Astronauts

Scott Parazynski

STS-66, STS-86, STS-95, STS-100 and STS-120

Scott Parazynski, M.D. had completed nearly two years of his residency in emergency medicine when NASA selected him for the astronaut corps in 1992. A veteran of five Space Shuttle flights, he has logged more than eight weeks in space, including 47 hours during seven spacewalks. Mission highlights include: a global ozone mapping mission, leading the first joint U.S.-Russian spacewalk while docked to Mir, serving as Senator John Glenn’s crewmate and personal physician and conducting EVA assembly of the Canadian-built space station arm. He is the second astronaut in history to perform four spacewalks in a single Space Shuttle Mission (STS-120).

During his NASA career, Parazynski served in numerous senior leadership roles, including EVA Branch Chief and the Lead Astronaut for Space Shuttle Thermal Protection System Inspection & Repair. Since retiring from NASA in 2009, he has served as a senior executive in the aerospace and medical sectors: Founding Director/Chief Medical Officer of UTMB’s Center for Polar Medical Operations, University Explorer and Professor of Practice at Arizona State University, and
recent co-founder of BlueDot Technologies, which aims to leverage disruptive technologies from national and university labs to address the planet’s greatest needs. He is a prolific inventor and product developer.

Parazynski earned a bachelor of science in biology from Stanford University, continuing on to graduate with honors from Stanford Medical School. He served his medical internship at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital of Harvard Medical School.

Scott Parazynski was inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame in May 2016.