Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

Created By The Mercury 7 Astronauts

Press Releases

Skylab Anniversary Dinner To Benefit ASF

The Skylab 40th Anniversary Celebration, a dinner and panel discussion to benefit the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF), will be held at Kennedy Space Center’s Apollo/Saturn V Center on Sat. July 27 at 7 p.m. Eight Skylab astronauts are slated to attend the dinner and participate in a panel discussion about living and conducting groundbreaking scientific experiments aboard the world’s first space station. They are: Alan Bean, Commander, Skylab 3 Gerald Carr, Commander, Skylab 4 Owen Garriott, Science Pilot, Skylab 3 Ed Gibson, Science Pilot, Skylab 4 Joseph Kerwin, Science Pilot, Skylab 2 Jack Lousma, Pilot, Skylab 3 Bill Pogue, Pilot, …

Full Article »

ASF Announces Board Changes

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) announced the election of space shuttle astronaut Dan Brandenstein as chairman of its board of directors and Orlando business owner Lisa Schott as vice chairman, a development that marks two firsts for the nonprofit: Brandenstein as the first shuttle-era astronaut to become chair, and Schott as the first non-astronaut to assume a leadership role on the board. Newly elected members of ASF’s board of directors include space shuttle astronaut Richard Covey and Joseph Han, a principal scientist working at an energy storage start-up in San Jose. Both Schott and Han are Astronaut Scholars. Schott was …

Full Article »

Astronaut Robert Crippen Private Signing


Hosted by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Be one of the fortunate few to add the autograph of NASA’s first Space Shuttle Pilot to your collection! The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF), a non-profit organization, is rolling out the red carpet for the private signing of four-time spaceflight veteran, shuttle astronaut, Robert L. Crippen. The signing will be held in late October with 100% of the proceeds benefiting the ASF. Space enthusiasts have until October 19, 2009 to send in artifacts, baseballs, covers, flown items, models, and photos — nearly anything you desire — to be autographed by this space hero. All …

Full Article »

Anna Moskovich Wins Omega Speedmaster Watch


Gen. Tom Stafford chose Anna Moskovich’s raffle ticket at the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation’s 2006 U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame Induction Gala on May 5, 2006, making her the winner of the Omega Speedmaster Watch raffle. “I was so glad to have won it, but even happier to have provided support for the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation,” said Moskovich. The raffle ran from February to May with tickets available online, through the mail, and at the gala. Hundreds of tickets were purchased, raising $10,000 for the scholarship program. Omega generously donated the Speedmaster watch, which was the first and only brand of …

Full Article »