Astronaut Scholarship Foundation

Created By The Mercury 7 Astronauts

Scholar Award Presentations


Texas A&M Award Presentation with Astronaut Charlie Duke

Every year, a new class of students are awarded the prestigious merit-based Astronaut Scholarship. In order to be considered for this scholarship, candidates must be nominated by university faculty members and must display initiative, creativity, and excellence in their chosen field.

ASF visits various institutions across the nation, presenting scholarship awards and providing educational seminars on the importance of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) and its impact on our world. These seminars are open to the public.

ASF awarded 45 scholarships in 2017!

2017 award presentations will be held on the following dates. More schools and information will be posted as soon as it is available. Dates may be subject to changes.

Date School Time Place Astronaut Invite
September 28 Miami University 7:30 pm Hall Auditorium Charlie Duke Download
October 13 Penn State University 4:30 pm Paterno Library, Foster Auditorium Charlie Duke Download
October 16 NC State University 4:00 pm Coastal Ballroom, Talley Student Center Fred Gregory
October 19 Virginia Tech 7:00 pm Holtzman Alumni Center, Alumni Assembly Hall Kathy Thornton Download
October 23 Colorado School of Mines 6:00 pm Bunker Auditorium at Green Center Al Worden Download
October 24 University of Colorado, Boulder 12:00 pm Andrews Hall Al Worden  Download
October 26 Texas A&M 10:00 am Rudder Auditorium Fred Gregory
November 8 University of Minnesota TBD TBD Dan Brandenstein
November 9 Georgia Tech 4:00 pm Clary Theater, Bill Moore Student Success Center Mike McCulley
November 16 University of Central Florida 4:30 pm Classroom 2 Bob Cabana